Eating the elephant one bite at a time

I love that phrase. I have to remind myself to take this all small step at a time.

Every day my hormones are calming down and I feel more like myself.

I have started working out again, and I am oh so sore in all the right places.

I went to the bookstore yesterday to buy my Mom her Mother’s Day present. I noticed a guy was checking me out. I know I probably could have gotten him to talk to me, but I just couldn’t bring myself to flirt. Not yet. Thoughts of dating or anything related to dating still give me the heebee jeebees.

My pain is better, I even went a whole day without taking any painkillers. Baby steps, baby steps. Er, small steps, small steps.

I am even settling in to my life sans Jon. I never noticed how much of my time was occupied with him until he was gone. Energy too. Are all relationships like that? Or was our relationship just more work because it just wasn’t right?

I am also scheduled for a second opinion. I’m hoping that this doctor will tell me there’s some solution for my pain besides narcotic pain meds or a hysterectomy.

Nibble, chew, swallow.

One thought on “Eating the elephant one bite at a time

  1. I’m glad you’re feeling better. That herb stuff does sound like the devil! Taking time out for yourself, working out, taking one step at a time—all good things to continue to be healthy.

    Glad to hear you are going in for a second opinion. Hopefully it’s soon and will put your mind at ease.

    As for relationships–I’m an so NOT an expert, but from what I hear, the good ones are easy. While every relationship requires some effort and work, I don’t think it should consume anyone. My last one felt like that– it just sucked the life out of me until I had nothing left to give to him or to myself. When I finally got out, it was like a huge weight had been lifted off of me and I could breathe again.

    Good luck with your 2nd opinion!

Leave a Reply

